How to get there
Close
Contact Us

VZW Quartier Dansaert ASBL
Rue Antoine Dansaertstraat 182
1000 Brussels
Belgium

info@downtowndansaert.be
www.downtowndansaert.be

Subscribe to our newsletter
Follow us
Facebook
Instagram
Connect
Facebook
Instagram
Menu

Upcoming Events

Brussels Craft Days

14-30.12.2018

Sint Goriksplein 1

Upcoming Events

Cocktail Nocturne

13.12.2018

Vlaamsesteenweg

Upcoming Events

Winter Windows

07.12.18 - 30.12.18

Dansaertbuurt

Upcoming Events

Labelchic x Odacité!

1.12.2018

Antoine Dansaertstraat 95

On the road with Nica
07/07/2017
Discover----
On the road with Nica

Name: Nica Broucke
Profession: Journalist, cultural omnivore and inspired by Brussels for more than thirty years, former chief editor of Elle-magazine and former art critic at De Morgen newpaper.
Lives in: Laeken

Centrale for Contemporary Art
Centrale for Contemporary Art

“A museum of contemporary art in Brussels after all?” you might ask. Indeed, it is unbelievable how little known this city museum, hidden behind Place Ste Catherine and located in a former power plant, is to the general public. It’s a real shame because artistic director Carine Fol manages to organize the most intriguing and interesting exhibitions. Don’t hesitate any longer and go visit “Where are the sounds” – the exhibition runs until September 10th.

Centrale, Place Sainte Catherine 44

Smørrebrød
Smørrebrød

I am so fond of oysters that I told at school it was my favorite animal. When I was asked why, I replied: “Because it is delicious, and it can change sex!”. Enter the school’s psychologist! Luckily I am more or less ok now. That is, as long as I can savor a sweet-silt oyster now and then. For years I used to enjoy them at Noordzee, the place to be in Brussels for seafood, until Bjarke left! The young Viking from Copenhagen has eyes to drown in and a smile no wifty can resist! (Yes, yes, I did research among my fortyish, fiftyish lady friends!) He can open any oyster with a whoosh. And I must say, also the smørrebrød tastes delicious. Add to that a glass of cool white wine and you only have to slurp and enjoy!

Smørrebrød, Place Sainte Catherine 47

Stijl
Stijl

From all the fashion shops in Brussels, Stijl is number one with a bullet. I have known Sonja Noel since we both studied at VUB University. When I lived around the corner of her boutique (at that moment located next to the first Pain Quotidien in the first part of rue Dansaert) I stared at the wonderful clothes in the window and saved enough to buy a skirt and jacket by Dries Van Noten. At that time he was not that well known, but these items are still hanging in my closet, and I even wear them nowadays. Sonja stubbornly goes for quality and style. Her selection is unparalleled! The clothes are quite expensive, but I prefer one designer item over ten cheap frocks. After all: ‘The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.’

Stijl, Rue Antoine Dansaertstraat 74

PJ MARES
PJ MARES

I got to know Peter-Jan Scherpereel and Tom Mares when they intervened at Art Brussels. These two architect/designers also decorated Samba Bar in Antwerp, near Het Eilandje. Their style can be called timeless, warm and skilled. It might seem weird to use the word ‘warm’ to describe designer furniture, but it is associated with their strong design, free of pretense and the use of diverse materials and meticulously chosen colours. If I would have the means, I would immediately order one of their kitchens – just like Michaël Roskam already did!

PJ MARES, Rue de Flandre 144 

Unica
Unica

The same motto as before: it is better to choose one good quality piece instead of ten inferior items. Carine Lauwers, who has had a long career in fashion, started Unica a few years ago, a concept to make tailor-made clothes available to everyone. Unica stands for pure ‘slow fashion’ and this is the place where you should get your perfect Petite Robe Noir that will suit any occasion. There is only one basic model that will be adapted to your personal shape and style. The price starts at 190 euros. Depending on the material you choose, the length, whether sleeves or a belt are added, etc. you pay somewhat more. Carine shares this cosy workshop in the rue de Flandre with Nadine Serbruyns, a former lawyer who enthusiastically took up the art of upholstery and now refurbishes designer furniture in a very unique way. Small-scaled, handcrafted, exactly what I like!

Unica, Rue de Flandre 118

Showroom_144
Showroom_144

I am still confused why you can find Showroom_144 at rue Lepage number 47 instead of, as you might expect, at number 144. Well, this is an unusual shop anyway. Frank Pay and Kathleen Wercks turned to upscale (vintage) furniture after a career in music and fashion. Most items are Scandinavian – furniture, lamps and accessories. Regularly they organize an exhibition in the shop with photographs or paintings. A wonderful place to discover unique pieces, run by unique people.

Showroom_144, Rue Léon Lepage 47

Maison Margiela
Maison Margiela

The first Margiela shop ever! When you enter you are completely absorbed into the world of Margiela: the smell of the ‘Untitled’ perfume, trompe l’oeil wallposters, floors and mannequins painted white,… Martin Margiela is/was one of my favourite designers. Recently I visited the exhibition at the MoMu in Antwerp about his years at luxury brand Hermès and when you see all these clothes he designed, both for his own brand and for Hermès, you have to conclude that he was an exceptionally gifted and enthused artist-tailor. Margiela has long since left the fashion business and with the recent passing of Jenny Meirens, the initial Margiela years seem to be over. Luckily Nicola Vercraye manages to create some kind of continuity. From the collections now designed by the team of John Galliano, he chooses a very strong collection. I must admit I am jealous of the archive he established. But on the other hand I was spoiled by him when he used to lend me dresses for an Elle-party or any other occasion. The stocksales Nicola organizes twice a year are very popular because you can buy beautiful items at reduced prices, and you can enjoy them for years and years.

Maison Margiela, Rue de Flandre 114

Think Twice
Think Twice

I love to come here and riffle through the clothes. Sometimes you can find a real gem, sometimes though, you make a bad bargain. The pair of trousers, for example, with enormous flares in a 70s synthetic fabric… why on earth did I ever buy those? But one thing is for sure: your asset is always original and unique!

Think Twice, Vieux Marché aux Grains 57

Daringman aka at Martine's
Daringman aka at Martine's

My favourite hangout even though I don’t come here that often. But when I go to a pub, it is definitely at Martine’s. I love the no-nonsense interior, the lack of ‘hipness’ (which makes it hip again) and that very special atmosphere. And most of all I am fan of beautiful Martine, the pub owner, ever since she had a pub near the flea market. Usually I order a White Spritz, a drink I introduced here myself after I discovered in it in Venice: half white wine, half sparkling water.

Daringman, Rue de Flandre 37

Bel Mundo / Mary Pop-in
Bel Mundo / Mary Pop-in

I am a regular here since I discovered this restaurant. The people I invite over here are very surprised. Bel Mundo is a sustainable and social project. They cook with vegetables from their own garden – who would have guessed to find such a wonderful green lane near the canal, next to MIMA. Lunch is worth every cent of the 7,5 euros and on Thursday and Friday evening you can enjoy a 3 course menu for only 19 euros. On Sundays zero-waste collective Eatmosphere organizes a Mary-Pop-In brunch on a gastronomic and therefor somewhat more expensive level. I give them a fat eight for atmosphere and cosiness!

Bel Mundo / Mary Pop-in
Quai du Hainaut 29, 1080 Molenbeek

Seymour Kassel Records
Seymour Kassel Records

I do not have a record player, but when I see vinyl  I always get nostalgic. Like this one from Arbeid Adelt, an EP that brings me back to the 1980s. Damn. We are getting old!

Seymour Kassel Records, Rue de Flandre 93

Kat & Muis
Kat & Muis

My children have outgrown Kat & Muis for a long time, but I have not: I found these yellow golden sandals in my size!

Kat & Muis, Nouveau Marché aux Grains 35

Skylab
Skylab

A cocktailbar at the Marché aux Poissons with a ravishing terrace, very friendly boys to serve you and an exquisite Gin Fizz.

Skylab, Quai au bois à brûler 9

With the kind support
of our partners:
KBC BXL - La Ville - De Stad

Comment arriver
Fermer
Contact

VZW Quartier Dansaert ASBL
Rue Antoine Dansaertstraat 182
1000 Bruxelles
Belgique

info@downtowndansaert.be
www.downtowndansaert.be

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter
Suivez-nous
Facebook
Instagram
Connecter
Facebook
Instagram
Menu

Evénements à venir

MAD FASHION AND DESIGN SALES

16-17.11.2018

Nieuwe Graanmarkt 10

Evénements à venir

BRUX'elles @Dansaert

14.11.2018

Nieuwe Graanmarkt 10

Evénements à venir

Labelchic is 1!

26.10.2018

Antoine Dansaertstraat 95

Evénements à venir

Workshop Couture MY MINI SKIRT

14.10.2018

Vlaamsesteenweg 118

Evénements à venir

WE ARE FASHION

12.10-18.11.2018

Nieuwe Graanmarkt 10

Evénements à venir

Taste Brussels

14.09-22.10.2018

Nieuwe Graanmarkt

Evénements à venir

You ROCK / JoyaBrussels

14.09-31-10.2018

Antoine Dansaertstraat 175

En route avec Nica
07/07/2017
Discover----
En route avec Nica

Nom: Nica Broucke
Profession: Journaliste
Habite à: Laeken

Centrale for Contemporary Art
Centrale for Contemporary Art

« Un musée d’art contemporain à Bruxelles ? », vous vous demandez. En effet, c’est incroyable que ce musée de la Ville de Bruxelles, caché derrière la Place Ste-Catherine et situé au même endroit qu’une ancienne centrale électrique, soit si peu connu du grand public. C’est bien dommage car la directrice artistique Carine Fol s’occupe d’organiser les expositions les plus intrigantes et intéressantes. N’hésitez plus et allez visiter « Où sont les sons ? » - l’expo prendra place jusqu’au 10 septembre.

Centrale, Place Sainte Catherine 44

Smørrebrød
Smørrebrød

J’aime tellement les huîtres que je disais même à l’école que c’était mon animal préféré. Quand on me demandait pourquoi, je répondais : « Parce que c’est délicieux, et ça peut changer de sexe ! » En est venu le psychologue de l’école!  Heureusement, je m’en sors plus ou moins bien maintenant. Du moment que je peux savourer une huître sucrée-salée de temps en temps. Bonheur instantané garanti ! J’avais l’habitude d’aller les déguster chez Noordzee, « the place to be » à Bruxelles pour les fruits de mer, jusqu’à ce que Bjarke parte ! Ce jeune viking de Copenhague a les yeux à se noyer, et un sourire auquel aucune wifty ne peut résister ! (oui, oui, j’ai fait une recherche chez mes amies qui ont la quarantaine et la cinquantaine). Il peut ouvrir n’importe quelle huître d’un seul geste. Je dois aussi dire que le smorrebrod est délicieux. Ajoutez à ça un verre de vin blanc bien frais, sirotez et profitez. 

Smørrebrød, Place Sainte Catherine 47

Stijl
Stijl

La meilleure de toutes les boutiques mode à Bruxelles. Je connais Sonja Noël parce qu’on étudiait ensemble à la VUB. Plus tard, j’habitais dans la rue Artevelde, pas très loin de sa boutique qui se trouvait à ce moment-là près du premier Pain Quotidien au début de la rue Dansaert. Je regardais les superbes vêtements en vitrine et j’ai économisé pour m’acheter une jupe et une veste Dries Van Noten. Il n’était pas encore si connu à l’époque mais ces pièces sont toujours rangées dans mon armoire et je les porte encore aujourd’hui. Sonja s’obstine toujours pour la qualité et le style. Sa sélection est sans égale. Les vêtements sont assez coûteux, mais je préfère une pièce de designer à dix pièces cheap. Après tout : « The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten. »

Stijl, Rue Antoine Dansaertstraat 74

PJ MARES
PJ MARES

J’ai connu Peter-Jan Scherpereel et Tom Mares grâce à leurs interventions chez Art Brussels. Ces deux architectes-designers se sont occupés de la décoration du Samba Bar à Anvers. Leur style est intemporel, chaleureux et artisanal. « Chaleureux » est peut-être un mot bizarre pour décrire des meubles design, mais leurs créations se distinguent par leur intemporalité, elles sont sans prétention, leurs matières sont diverses et leurs couleurs méticuleusement choisies. Si j’en avais les moyens, je commanderais une de leur cuisines – comme l’a fait Michaël Roskam qui est un de leurs clients.

PJ MARES, Rue de Flandre 144

Unica
Unica

A nouveau la même devise: il vaut mieux choisir une pièce de bonne qualité que dix de qualité inférieure. Carine Lauwers, qui a une longue carrière dans la mode, a ouvert Unica il y a quelques années, un concept de création de vêtements sur-mesure accessibles à tout le monde. Unica représente le "slow-fashion" pur et c'est l'endroit où se procurer la Petite Robe Noire parfaite qui conviendra à n'importe quelle occasion. Il y a un modèle de base qui sera adapté à votre silhouette et style personnels. Les prix commencent à 190 euros. Selon la matière que vous choisissez, la longueur, l'ajout ou non de manches ou d'une ceinture, vous payez un peu plus. Carine partage ce workshop cosy dans la Rue de Flandre avec Nadine Serbruyns, une ancienne avocate qui a repris avec enthousiasme l'art du garnissage et qui, aujourd'hui, remet à neuf des meubles de designers de manière unique. Un concept à petite échelle, artisanal, exactement ce que j'aime!

Unica, Rue de Flandre 118

Showroom_144
Showroom_144

Je ne comprends toujours pas bien pourquoi Showroom_144 se trouve au numéro 47 de la Rue Léon Lepage au lieu du numéro 144, comme on s’y attend. Mais c'est toute de même un magasin inhabituel. Frank Pay et Kathleen Wercks se sont tournés vers les meubles (vintage) haut-de-gamme après une carrière dans la musique et dans la mode. La plupart des pièces sont Scandinaves - meubles, lampes et accessoires. Ils organisent régulièrement des expositions de photos et de peintures dans leur magasin. Un endroit formidable pour découvrir des pièces uniques, géré par des personnes uniques.

Showroom_144, Rue Léon Lepage 47

Maison Margiela
Maison Margiela

La première boutique Margiela au monde! Quand vous y entrez, vous êtes complètement absorbés dans le monde de Margiela: l'odeur du parfum "Untitled", des affiches murales trompe l'oeil, les sols et mannequins peints en blanc... Margiela est/était un de mes stylistes préférés. J'ai récemment visité l'exposition au MoMu d'Anvers consacrée à ses années passées auprès de la marque de luxe Hermès. Et quand on voit tous ces vêtements qu'il a créés, aussi bien pour sa propre marque que pour Hermès, on doit en conclure qu'il était un artiste-couturier exceptionnellement doué et enthousiaste. Margiela a quitté l'industrie de la mode depuis longtemps et, avec le décès récent de Jenny Meirens, les années Margiela initiales semblent être révolues. Heureusement, Nicola Vercraye réussit à créer une sorte de continuité. A partir des collections maintenant créées par l'équipe de John Galliano, il fait une sélection très forte. Je dois admettre que je suis un peu jalouse de l'archive qu'il a établie. Mais d'un autre côté, j'ai été gâtée par lui lorsqu'il me prêtait des robes pour des soirées Elle, ou d'autres occasions. Les ventes de stock que Nicola organise deux fois par an sont très populaires parce que vous pouvez y acheter de belles pièces à prix réduits et en profiter pendant des années et des années. 

Maison Margiela, Rue de Flandre 114

Think Twice
Think Twice

J'adore venir ici et fouiller dans les vêtements. Parfois on peut y trouver une vraie perle, et parfois on peut faire une mauvaise affaire. Par exemple, ce pantalon en textile synthétique des années 70 avec d'énormes pattes d'eph... Je ne sais pas ce qui m'est passé par la tête quand je l'ai acheté. Une chose est sûre: ce qu'on y achète est toujours original et unique!

Think Twice, Vieux Marché aux Grains 57

Daringman aka chez Martine
Daringman aka chez Martine

Mon café préféré, même si je n'y vais pas très souvent. Mais si je dois aller dans un café, c'est chez Martine. J'adore l'intérieur no-nonsense, le fait que ça n'ait pas vraiment de style (ce qui le rend stylé) et cette ambiance très spéciale. Surtout, je suis fan de la belle Martine, la propriétaire du café, depuis qu'elle tenait un café près du marché aux puces. D'habitude, je commande un White Spritz, une boisson que je leur ai fait connaitre moi-même après l'avoir découverte à Venise: une moitié de vin blanc et l'autre moitié d'eau gazeuse. 

Daringman, Rue de Flandre 37

Bel Mundo / Mary Pop-in
 Bel Mundo / Mary Pop-in

Je suis devenue une habituée depuis que j'ai découvert ce restaurant. Les gens que j'invite ici sont très surpris. Bel Mundo est un projet social durable. Ils cuisinent des légumes de leur propre jardin - qui aurait cru trouver un si bel espace vert près du canal, à côté du MIMA. Le lunch vaut chaque centime des 7,5 euros et les jeudi et vendredi soir, vous pouvez profiter d'un menu 3 services pour seulement 19 euros. Le dimanche, le collectif zéro-déchet Eatmosphere organise un brunch Mary-Pop-In gastronomique, et donc à un niveau un peu plus coûteux. Je leur donne un grand 8 pour l'ambiance et le confort!

Bel Mundo / Mary Pop-in
Quai du Hainaut 29, 1080 Molenbeek

Seymour Kassel Records
Seymour Kassel Records

Je n'ai pas une platine, mais quand je vois du vinyle, je suis toujours nostalgique. Comme celui-ci d'Arbeid Adelt, un EP qui me ramène aux années 1980. Zut. Nous vieillissons!

Seymour Kassel Records, Rue de Flandre 93

kat & Muis
kat & Muis

Mes enfants ont dépassé Kat & Muis depuis longtemps, mais moi non. J'ai trouvé ces sandales or à ma taille!

Kat & Muis, Nouveau Marché aux Grains 35

Skylab
Skylab

Un bar à cocktails au Marché aux Poissons avec une ravissante terrasse, des garçons très aimables pour vous servir, et un Gin Fizz exquis.

Skylab, Quai au bois à brûler 9

Avec l'aimable soutien
de nos partenaires:
KBC BXL - La Ville - De Stad